CCSG is headed by a director and four professorial research chairs. The centre’s professors play a lead role in the development of the centre’s research program while also managing selected projects and monitoring research performance. Activities are guided by two advisory bodies which include members from UQ, the CSG industry and the Queensland regulator. The centre engages researchers from a variety of schools and centres to deliver individual research projects.


Research Chairs

  • Brian Towler

    Chair in Petroleum Engineering
    Centre for Coal Seam Gas
  • James Underschultz

    Deputy Director / Chair in Water
    Centre for Coal Seam Gas
  • Phil Hayes

    Incoming Chair of Water Resources and Gas Development (commenced 4 February 2019)
    Centre for Coal Seam Gas
  • Raymond Johnson

    Chair in Well Engineering and Production Technology
    Centre for Coal Seam Gas
  • Suzanne Hurter

    Suzanne Hurter

    Chair in Onshore Gas Modelling
    Centre for Coal Seam Gas